Hematologist Apt 2/17/11

So I met with the hematologist yesterday. It was kind of scary, I had to go the the Cancer Center, and I had to wear a hospital ID bracelet.

Basically, it is like this. My body was attacking the placenta, and with this gene mutation I was overactive making blood clots and the clots cut off the nutrition and oxygen to the umbilical cord and Emily.

It’s official name is Factor II, or prothrombin gene mutaion G20210A. In a normal person the A would be first, then the G, but in my case it is reversed in the DNA and that is the mutation.

In a future pregnancy, I will begin injecting myself with blood thinners, she recommends Lovenox once a day until the last month, because I can’t have an epidural with Lovenox and general anesthesia is dangerous as well. The last month I will be switched to heparin.

I scheduled my next appt for June 8, 2011. That is when we plan to begin trying again, and he is going to come so he will know how to give me the shot too. She will teach us how to give the injection then and all the other information involved with being on a blood thinner, and what to look for in case of a complication.

My support group with SHARE Atlanta was last night also, and another woman has the same gene mutation as I do. She said she gave herself injections every day through 2 healthy, succesful pregnancys. I finally feel some hope, although I am scared to even feel that. I don’t think I will believe it until I am holding a live baby in my arms.

About nicole410

This is my story about the journey I am on after the stillborn death of my daughter. I am a teacher and live and work in the Atlanta area. On December 28, 2010 my entire live was turned upside down and sideways when my daughter Emily was born sleeping at 30 weeks and 6 days. I'm struggling and learning how to live without my precious baby girl. I have been diagnosed with Prothrombin Gene mutation, Factor 2 Mutation, a genetic blood clotting disorder.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

