Met with new OB (written 3/4/11)

I’m sure that I’ve found my new OB after today. She’s a high risk OB in a partnership with one other person.  I sat with her in her office today for an entire hour asking all my questions and showing her Dr. Collins’ research (she was genuinely interested).

She cleared up some things I wasn’t sure about with her knowledge about my clotting disorder. She’s had several patients with my disorder with “some favorable outcomes.” At the perinatal u/s Emily always measured big, which makes sense, b/c all my sisters have had big babies (smallest 8.5lbs). My last u/s she was 22 weeks and she measured a day ahead, that’s when the perinatalogist said everything was great and I didn’t have to come back until my OB said (big mistake *sigh:( So, she told me that growth restriction is common with my disorder beginning after 20 weeks. Emily’s growth probably slowed down a lot after that u/s which is why she was 3lbs (average or a little under for almost 31 weeks) when she was born.

For my next pregnancy we know I’ll be on the daily Lovenox. I’ll still go to the Perinatal Office at the hospital every month in addition to them (like the last time, but I’m picking a different doctor there this time!) I will have the option of an amnio again b/c of my age.

I will be monitored even closer this time. I will have growth scans starting at 20 weeks, the blood flow scan by 22 weeks. I will begin NST by 28 weeks (the last time I heard Emily’s heart beat:(

If all goes well I will not go past 38 weeks and will be induced then. If there are problems and time before then OR if  I want to be induced earlier (I loved that she said that! I felt like she valued my instincts!) they will do an amnio for lung maturity to see if it is safe to be induced at that time.

After that we went to the next room so she could look at my fibroids on the u/s. YAY!! She could only see one and it has shrunk to 3 cm! Nothing needs to be done, it is shrinking on its’ own and not a problem!

She said after my records are in from my previous OB and the hospital if I need to have any additional testing that she’ll call me. I scheduled my annual for July 7th. We have the green light for TTC in June/July.

I feel good about the outcome and comfortable with the plan. I still have this emptiness, I miss Emily so much. It’s so sad that I have all this information and knowledge too late to help her.

 

 

About nicole410

This is my story about the journey I am on after the stillborn death of my daughter. I am a teacher and live and work in the Atlanta area. On December 28, 2010 my entire live was turned upside down and sideways when my daughter Emily was born sleeping at 30 weeks and 6 days. I'm struggling and learning how to live without my precious baby girl. I have been diagnosed with Prothrombin Gene mutation, Factor 2 Mutation, a genetic blood clotting disorder.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Met with new OB (written 3/4/11)

  1. Sharon says:

    I am so glad that you got to meet with your OB and come up with a plan. We did the same thing and left reassured and remain reassured today! I hope when you do decide to start trying that conception finds you swiftly and successfully! Thanks for sharing! I will be following your journey! HUGS! Sharon

  2. Julie says:

    wonderful, wonderful. I’m so glad you found a dr you love and trust!

Leave a Reply

