School Program made me so sad

I never anticipated how I would feel watching the students perform at our Black History month celebration. Two children were on stage performing so well and I started wondering about Emily. Would she have been an outgoing performer? Or would she be behind the scenes writing the script. Would her father’s Brazilian blood had made her one of the graceful dancers performing? Or would she have been the shy observer, cheering on her classmates? I will never know. And it broke my heart. I had to hurry out of the program and cry in my classroom. Why were our babies taken too soon? Before we knew about them, before we could have pictures and memories of how they were? It is haunting me now and I am left wondering about her with my broken heart and my beautiful little girl in her heart shaped urn on the family heirloom hutch next to the framed photos of my mom and grandmom’s flowers from their funeral.

About nicole410

This is my story about the journey I am on after the stillborn death of my daughter. I am a teacher and live and work in the Atlanta area. On December 28, 2010 my entire live was turned upside down and sideways when my daughter Emily was born sleeping at 30 weeks and 6 days. I'm struggling and learning how to live without my precious baby girl. I have been diagnosed with Prothrombin Gene mutation, Factor 2 Mutation, a genetic blood clotting disorder.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to School Program made me so sad

  1. Sharon says:

    Working with children can inspire so many reflections on our situations. My hope is that everyday I will be able to see something in my students that I look forward to experiencing with my own children instead of missing out on them with Trey. HUGS!! Sharon

Leave a Reply

