What Makes A Mother- a poem

What Makes A Mother

 

I thought of you and closed my eyes; and prayed to God today I asked what makes a Mother and I know I heard him say.. A Mother has a baby, this we know is true. But God can you be a Mother, when your baby’s not with you?

 

Yes you can, he replied with confidence in his voice I give many women babies, when they leave is not their choice. Some I send for a lifetime; and others for a day And some I send to feel your womb, but there’s no need to stay.

 

I just don’t understand this God, I want my baby here He took a breath and cleared his throat; and then I saw a tear. I wish I could show you, what your child is doing today If you could see your child smile with other kids and say “We go to earth to learn our lessons of Love and Life and Fear, My Mommy Loved me oh so much, I got to come straight here..

 

I feel so lucky to have a Mom, who had so much love for me I learned my lesson very quickly, My mommy set me free. I miss my Mommy oh so much but I visit her each day when she goes to sleep, on her pillow’s where I lay.

 

I stroke her hair and kiss her cheek; and whisper in her ear Mommy don’t be sad today, I’m your baby and I’m here.” So you see my dear sweet one, your children are okay Your babies are here in my home; And this is where they’ll stay. They’ll wait for you with me, until your lesson is through And on the day that you come home; they’ll be at the gates for you.

 

So, now you see what makes a Mother, it’s the feeling in your heart It’s the Love you had so much of; right from the very start.

 

By Jennifer Wasik

 

About nicole410

This is my story about the journey I am on after the stillborn death of my daughter. I am a teacher and live and work in the Atlanta area. On December 28, 2010 my entire live was turned upside down and sideways when my daughter Emily was born sleeping at 30 weeks and 6 days. I'm struggling and learning how to live without my precious baby girl. I have been diagnosed with Prothrombin Gene mutation, Factor 2 Mutation, a genetic blood clotting disorder.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Makes A Mother- a poem

  1. Faylyn says:

    September 15,2007 at 30 weeks pregnant I gave birth to my daughter McKeelyn. Doctors tried to prepare me for the worst at 20 weeks pregnant, my daughter was to be born with a fatal birth defect called anencephaly. I was only only 19 years old and this was my first child. I did not dare question God’s decision, I had to be strong, and I had to do what was right by my daughter. I chose to carry her. I delivered her naturally as she came on her on at 30 weeks. I was then blessed to hold my daughter for 3 hours until her passing. My biggest wish was to donate my daughter’s organs to save another life yet was unable to. McKeelyn only weighed in at 1 lb 12 oz, her organs were not developed enough for this procedure. I don’t look at my daughter’s life as a loss, God put her in my life for a short time for a reason, for that I live my life to the fullest and I am ever so greatful for the experience of my soul.

Leave a Reply

