The Loss of a Child

The moment that I knew you had died,

My heart split in two,

The one side filled with memories,

The other died with you.

 

I often lay awake at night,

When the world is fast asleep,

And take a walk down memory lane,

With tears upon my cheek.

 

Remembering you is easy,

I do it every day,

But missing you is a heartache,

That never goes away.

 

I hold you tightly within my heart,

And there you will remain,

Life has gone on without you,

But it never will be the same.

For those who still have their children,

Treat them with tender care,

You will never know the emptiness,

As when you turn and they are not there.

 

Don’t tell me that you understand,

don’t tell me that you know.

 

Don’t tell me that I will survive,

How I will surely grow.

 

Don’t tell me this is just a test,

That I am truly blessed.

 

That I am chosen for the task,

Apart from all the rest.

 

Don’t come at me with answers

That can only come from me,

Don’t tell me how my grief will pass,

That I will soon be free.

 

Don’t stand in pious judgment

Of the bonds I must untie,

Don’t tell me how to grieve,

Don’t tell me when to cry.

Accept me in my ups and downs,

I need someone to share,

Just hold my hand and let me cry,

And say, “My friend, I care”.

by (or posted by) Jackie Oliver

About nicole410

This is my story about the journey I am on after the stillborn death of my daughter. I am a teacher and live and work in the Atlanta area. On December 28, 2010 my entire live was turned upside down and sideways when my daughter Emily was born sleeping at 30 weeks and 6 days. I'm struggling and learning how to live without my precious baby girl. I have been diagnosed with Prothrombin Gene mutation, Factor 2 Mutation, a genetic blood clotting disorder.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Loss of a Child

  1. Sharon says:

    EXCELLENT poem! 🙂 Sharon

Leave a Reply

