Just Say I’m Sorry

Just Say I’m Sorry

– author unknown

You don’t know how I feel; please don’t tell me that you do.
There’s just one way to know–have you lost a child too?
“You’ll have another child” – must I hear this every day?
Can I get another mother, too, if mine should pass away?
Don’t say it was “God’s will” – that’s not the God I know.
Would God, on purpose, break my heart,
then watch as my tears flow?
You have an angel in heaven – a precious child above.
But tell me, to whom here on earth shall I give this love?
“Aren’t you better yet?” Is that what I heard you say?
No! A part of my heart aches and I’ll always feel some pain.
You think that silence is kind, but it hurts me even more.
I want to talk about my child who has gone through death’s door.
Don’t say these things to me, although you do mean well.
They do not take my pain away; I must go through this hell.
I will get better, slow but sure – and it helps to have you near.
But a simple “I’m sorry you lost your child” is all I need to hear.

 

About nicole410

This is my story about the journey I am on after the stillborn death of my daughter. I am a teacher and live and work in the Atlanta area. On December 28, 2010 my entire live was turned upside down and sideways when my daughter Emily was born sleeping at 30 weeks and 6 days. I'm struggling and learning how to live without my precious baby girl. I have been diagnosed with Prothrombin Gene mutation, Factor 2 Mutation, a genetic blood clotting disorder.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just Say I’m Sorry

  1. Amy von Oven says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I KNOW you are hurting…I HATED when someone would say they understood, it made me angry. Unless you have held your lifeless child, you can’t understand the pain in my heart. I know it feels like it will not get better and it will never go away, but there IS hope, and YOU will get there, I PROMISE. I just posted a song I found on my blog today, check it out, IT IS SO GOOD! Praying for you!

Leave a Reply

